Department of Mines and Technical Surveys.—This Department was created by an Act of Parliament (SC 1949, c. 17) which received Royal Assent on Dec. 10, 1949. Its establishment resulted from the reorganization of certain former departments. A primary function of the Department is to provide technological assistance in the development of Canada's mineral resources through investigations and research in the fields of geology, mineral dressing and metallurgy. The Department establishes the framework of surveys throughout the country that provides control for all surveying and mapping in Canada. It produces the base maps used in the development of Canada's natural resources, conducts all the charting of Canada's coastal and inland waters, and issues official sailing directions and Canadian sea and air navigation charts. To this has been added recently the study of coastal waters and of the country's continental shelf as well as of the deep ocean for defence and resource assessment purposes. The Department is divided into six branches: the Surveys and Mapping Branch, the Marine Sciences Branch, the Geological Survey of Canada, the Mines Branch, the Dominion Observatories, and the Geographical Branch. The Mineral Resources Division, a unit of head office, gives its whole attention to matters concerned with the economics of mineral resources development.

The Department administers the Explosives Act which regulates the manufacture, testing, sale, storage and importation of explosives, and the Emergency Gold Mining Assistance Act which provides cost-aid to the Canadian gold mining industry.

Boards and Commissions are: the Canadian Permanent Committee on Geographical Names; the Board of Examiners for Dominion Land Surveyors; the International Boundary Commission; and the Interprovincial Boundary Commissions. The Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys reports to Parliament for the Dominion Coal Board.

**Department of National Defence.\***—The Department of National Defence was established on Jan. 1, 1923 by the Department of National Defence Act, 1922, and was an amalgamation of the Department of Militia and Defence, the Naval Service and the Air Board. The Department and the Canadian Forces (the Royal Canadian Navy, the Canadian Army and the Royal Canadian Air Force) now operate under the National Defence Act, 1950 (RSC 1952, c. 184).

In 1940 additional Ministers for Naval and Air Services were appointed and the Department was organized under a Minister of National Defence and two additional Ministers so that there was a Minister and staff for each of the Armed Services. Upon demobilization of the wartime Forces the appointment of Ministers of National Defence for Naval Services and Air Services ceased, and the Armed Forces were, in 1946, again administered by the Minister of National Defence without additional Ministers. Under the National Defence Act, the Canadian Forces are being administered solely by the Minister of National Defence and the Associate Minister of National Defence.

The Defence Research Board, created in 1947 to carry out research relating to national defence and to advise the Minister on all relevant matters of a scientific or technical nature, now functions under the National Defence Act. The Chairman of the Board has a status equivalent to that of a Chief of Staff of one of the Canadian Forces.

National Energy Board.—This Board was established under the National Energy Board Act, 1959 for the broad purpose of assuring the best use of energy resources in Canada. The Board, composed of five members, is responsible for the regulation of the construction and operation of the oil and gas pipelines that are under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada, the tolls charged for transmission by oil and gas pipelines, the export and import of gas and the export of electric power, and the construction of the lines over which such power is transmitted. The Board is also required to study and keep under review all matters relating to energy under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada and to recommend such measures as it considers necessary and advisable on the subject. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

National Film Board.—The National Film Board, established in 1939, operates under the National Film Act (RSC 1952, c. 185) which provides for a Board of Governors of nine members—a Government Film Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, who is Chairman of the Board, three members from the public service of Canada and five members from outside the public service. The Board reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State. The Board is responsible for advising the Governor in Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national interest and, in particular, films "designed to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations".

Department of National Health and Welfare.—This Department was established in October 1944 under authority of the Department of National Health and Welfare Act (RSC 1952, c. 74). It was originally formed as the Department of Health in 1919 and later became part of the Department of Pensions and National Health. That Department was replaced in 1944 by the Department of National Health and Welfare and the Department of Veterans Affairs.

<sup>\*</sup> Changes pending at Apr. 30, 1964 will appear in the Appendix, if made effective before this volume goes to press.